The 1975

The 1975 are a Manchester four-piece consisting of Matthew Healy (vocals, guitar), Adam Hann (guitar), George Daniel (drums) and Ross MacDonald (bass). Their self-titled debut album thrilled critics and fans alike, with their amorphous drifts between brooding art rock, crisp electronica, dancefloor R&B, and 80s gloss pop. Following a self-titled No 1 album, they embarked on a headline worldwide tour.

Their second studio album, I Like It When You Sleep, for You Are So Beautiful Yet So Unaware, released in February 2016 became their second #1 album, nominated for Mercury Prize ‘Best Album’ and . From the opening bars of ‘The 1975’, a reworked version of the track that opened their debut album, to the rough-demo acoustic of ‘She Lays Down’, via the monster earworms ‘Love Me’, ‘She’s American’, ‘The Sound’ and ‘This Must Be My Dream’to the ineffably beautiful ballads ‘Change of Heart’, ‘Somebody Else’ and ‘Paris, the album embarks on a journey of twists and turns, its unorthodox but brilliantly realised sequencing – and that insanely long album title – is a thrilling affirmation of what makes this band so defiantly individual and steadfastly indifferent to the tired old formulas of the pop machine.